Vladislav Delay Quartet

Vladislav Delay, aka Finnish composer and percussionist Sasu Ripatti, is one of the most innovative and influential electronic musicians of the last two decades. A prolific and chameleon-like operative whose multiple pseudonyms (Luomo, Uusitalo, AGF/Delay) have allowed him a unique and varied take on electronic music. He has worked with a wide range of artists, including Rhythm and Sound, Black Dice, Massive Attack, and Ryuichi Sakamoto, and has released his music on small independent labels, major labels and his own Huume imprint.

┬áVladislav Delay Quartet is a totally unique take on the possibilities of the 21st century jazz ensemble, featuring Sasu Ripatti (aka Vladislav Delay) on drums/percussion, Pansonic’s Mika Vainio (electronics), Lucio Capece (reeds) and Derek Shirley (bass). A companion project perhaps in terms of aesthetic to the Moritz Von Oswald Trio (which Sasu also performs in), this is closely linked to Delay’s amazingly varied take on dub ambience, combining it with acoustic instrumentation, no input electronics and free improvisation. Vladislav Delay Quartet’s debut album was released on Honest Jons in May 2011.